Soft and Chewy Oatmeal Cookies (Made with Coconut Sugar)

20131019-064921.jpg

There is a great little sprouts grocery store down the street that sells oatmeal cookies I am addicted to, they just happen to have refined sugars and flours, so I tried my hand at making a batch using Smitten Kitchen’s wonderful recipe as a base. (I adore her cooking by the way.) They turned out soft, chewy and quite delicious. My daughter really really wanted to eat them for dinner. I used coconut sugar as a sweetener, tasted great! I really like this sugar for baking and so far, I haven’t had anything go wrong yet. I also added both golden and regular raisins to the mix for fun and because that’s what I had on hand. These would be great as well with nuts if you’re into that sorta thing. (I’m a purist boring, and like my cookies sans nuts.)

Gather

1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup coconut sugar
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup (95 grams) all-purpose, white wheat or whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 scant tsp sea salt (use 1/4 if you aren’t a fan of salt in your cookies)
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
3/4 cup raisins or dried cherries or dried cranberries or golden raisins
1/2 cup nuts, chopped (optional)

Make

Cream butter, vanilla, egg and sugar in a large bowl. The mix may look a little crumbly or curdled, but not to worry, they turn out just fine. Set aside.

Whisk flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a medium bowl. Add to wet mixture and stir to combine. Add oats, raisins and nuts if using.

Chill batter for 10-15 minutes, preheat oven to 350 and scoop large, rounded tablespoons onto a parchment or silicone line baking sheet.

Bake 10-12 minutes. Serve with spiced cider or a cup of delicious warm chai tea. Happy fall!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Philip Imhoff says:

    My wife and daughter can no longer eat white sugar but my daughter was craving cookies. I’m so glad I found your recipe. We have plenty of coconut sugar but it doesn’t bake the same as white sugar. This recipe made a very nice cookie. Although most people would find it ideal, it was a little to set for our taste. Next time I’ll try it with 1/4 cup less sugar. My only modifications this time round was baking powder in place of baking soda and I added 1Tbsp arrowroot powder to the 100 percent whole wheat flour I used. Good job!

    1. missveronique says:

      Thank you so much, I’m glad you liked them! I agree on the sweetness at times we reduce it as well 🙂

  2. tomilab says:

    I tried the cookies today. Loved them, made a few changes, but great cookies. So glad I found them. Posted the recipe on Facebook. So good will become a new family fav!

    1. missveronique says:

      So very glad you liked them!

  3. Mishra says:

    This is the best oatmeal cookie recipe that I have ever used!!! Thank you for sharing!! 🙂

    1. missveronique says:

      I’m so glad! I’m making a batch this afternoon 🙂

  4. Cindy says:

    Best oatmeal cookie I have made. I doubled the batch, they were all but gone in 2days. Thanks!, Cindy

  5. Chelsea Lee says:

    I was looking for a cookie to make with coconut sugar, as it is the “healthiest” kind. I used whole wheat flour and the exact recipe and they turned out awesome! Thanks!

  6. Carolyn says:

    I’m trying to cut out salt, do you think these will be ok if I omit it? I read somewhere you can substitute baking soda but there’s already some in these cookies.
    Thanks

    1. Veronica M. says:

      I think you can absolutely omit the salt!

  7. Becky Liu says:

    hi i made these but theyre sooo crumbly. how do i overcome this?

    1. Veronica M. says:

      It sounds like you need to add more liquid to balance the dry ingredients. Everyone’s measuring is a little bit different so results may vary slightly.

  8. Cindi Armington says:

    Loved these cookies. changes I used: Almond Flour, put in Nutmeg, and all spice 1/4 tsp ea. Thank You, Very Delicious!!

Leave a comment