Home » wardrobe » Pregnancy Upside- A Simplified Wardrobe

Pregnancy Upside- A Simplified Wardrobe

closet

I’ve been following the Project 333 trend among simplicity bloggers. The idea is that you only own 33 items and change those out 3 times a year for the season ahead. This includes shoes, jewelry and accessories. It does not include pajamas or workout clothing. I started thinking about the benefits of owning fewer pieces of clothing, but actually liking everything I own. Ah, the possibilities right? (Can we say Ferragamo ballet flats? I’d literally only need to wear those for at least 12 months!) I counted all of the items in my closet alone and came up with 97 things. That was not counting my t shirt drawer, pant drawer, accessories or jewelry, and I’m frugal with clothes! I swear!

But what do I actually wear? Pregnancy is enough to make anyone downsize. I think all told in this pregnancy, I’ve purchased one maternity bathing suit, one pair of leggings at Ross, two preggo jeans for a few bucks at a consignment store and one maternity top. That leaves my own non-pregnancy wardrobe for the rest. Add in one pair of black stretch crepe pants, a few pairs of shoes and dresses that magically still fit and there you go. In one sense, it feels strange only having ten outfits or so to choose from. On the other, the mornings are easy and I have taken more care in accessorizing. I actually have been living the 333 Project unintentionally for most of my pregnancy. I currently have 26 items I wear- including shoes, scarves and jewelry. And I’m still alive.

What feels amazing about the prospect of permanently downsizing post-pregnancy is the idea that one day, I won’t constantly WANT more. I won’t want to go to the cheapest outlet to find an article of clothing that I don’t need and add it to a bulging closet for a mere few days of happiness, only to repeat the process over and over again. I won’t also be looking for the lowest price aka lowest quality goods since they will have to last me a little while.

Everyone talks about other countries doing everything better. I love the phrase “Parisian Chic.” It is supposed to be a paired down, minimal but oh-so-fashionable combination of items. Now, our romanticism of this city is bat-sh*t crazy but I have always loved the notion of really well made items, I just couldn’t afford them when I was filling every whim with a shopping trip.
So here’s to Project 333, to liking my possessions and to finding more productive ways to fill happiness.

Leave a Reply

