Home » Uncategorized » Using Herbs for Customized Pest Control « All Things Mothering

Using Herbs for Customized Pest Control « All Things Mothering


Bugs, bugs, and more bugs!  Some are cute and cuddly, others outright nasty.  Then there are those sneaky ones that can devour a garden seemingly overnight.  I have a no nasty rule in my home and on my property, meaning that I will happily spend an entire day pulling weeds because I refuse to use horrible chemicals on my plants, and on the land.  Because I love to garden, and am definitely not a fan of bugs in my home (even if those daddy long legs do keep other bugs at bay, they still have to go), my arsenal of natural and safe pest control is growing, and I am happy to pass along what I have learned.

In the garden and in the home, placing various herbs strategically throughout can help ward off many pests. If you run out of room, or simply don’t have a green thumb, you can mix 12 drops of essential oil of the plant needed with 8 ounces of distilled water, and 1/2 teaspoon of natural soap in a spray bottle, and spritz where needed.  However, keep in mind that essential oils are powerful, and a little goes a long way.  Apply to plants sparingly, but be sure to spray both the top and underside of the leaves.  Several applications, every few days, may be necessary.  If using this method in the home, spray in key areas, such as around windows, doors, and along baseboards.

Click the link above for the full list!

Using Herbs for Customized Pest Control « All Things Mothering

Leave a Reply

