Home » Uncategorized » The Great Crib Migration

The Great Crib Migration

Charlotte slept in her crib for the first time last night. It was tough, really tough. Between 9:30 and 12:30, we were up every few minutes rocking and humming and doing everything we could to get her to adjust to her new space. I wanted to just grab her and take her to bed, but with the help of C, I persevered. At 12:30, I decided to get some sleep and planted the monitor right next to my head. Our giant king size bed seemed to go on forever without a little snuzzler pushing me off the bed. It was an emotional time. I did sleep much better though. 

C was so nervous about not waking up that he stayed up until 3am just in case. Between 12:30 and 3:00 she did get up a few times and he was right next to her, reassuring her that we didn’t high tail it out of her life.

He crawled into bed around three, I woke up to pump and she didn’t wake up until 6am for a feeding and 10am for good. Not bad for night #1. 

The following day, she went down for a 2 hour nap in her crib at noon, a smaller 45 min nap at 4 and somehow, I got her down in her crib after a little nursing right around 9:30. She woke up at 10:30 for a quick snack and then proceeded to sleep until this very late 4am hour… she’s still asleep and I’m tempted to go in to make sure she’s still alive.

This second day has been a breeze to say the least, it makes me wonder if she’s always been the type of baby to sleep better on her own. I can’t decide how I feel about the 7.5 month transition from co-sleeping timeline. Maybe earlier would have made sense? But honestly, I loved every minute of the time we co-slept so in that case, maybe our timing for the transition was just perfect. 

Leave a Reply

